ABOUT THE CEDARS
Find out more about us
History of the Hotel
A favourite spot for seasoned ghost hunters and rumoured to house its very own resident spirits, Shelthorpe cottage, as the building was originally called, was commissioned and built in 1850 as a private house for the family of the chairman of the grand Middleton’s Bank of Loughborough, whose notably ornate building remains today as HSBC next to The Town Hall.
The demise of the bank and the passing of the chairman saw the house purchased by the Great Central Railway as the home of their station master, who had his very own private platform built here, believed to be roughly where The Station Master’s Restaurant can be found now!
The 1970s saw Shelthorpe Cottage become The Cedars Hotel: offering state of the art accommodation, the finest restaurant in town and an enviable outdoor swimming pool – now covered over by the top lawn of our wildly popular Steam Garden Bar and Restaurant overlooking the fabulous railway!
Still boasting some beautiful original features with a stylish modern twist, The Cedars Hotel continues its legacy as a charming, lively hotel, particularly known for its fabulous food and unbeatable service, and we look forward to welcoming you very soon…